St Bride's: What's On

Calendar View: This Week · Monthly

Sunday 1st October

11:00 AM - Choral Eucharist: Trinity XVI

Setting: Communion Service in G – Jackson

Anthem: Jesu, the very thought of thee – Bairstow

SUNDAY CLUB: aims to provide a safe and stimulating environment for all our younger congregation members. All welcome.


5:30 PM - Choral Evensong

Marking the 100th Birthday of Francis Jackson

Responses: Jackson (for St Bride's)

Psalm: 124

Magnificat & Nunc Dimittis: Evening Service in G – Jackson

Anthem: Up to those bright and gladsome hills – Jackson


Monday 2nd October

8:15 AM - Morning Prayer


5:00 PM - 6:00 PM - Space for Silence

Commune with your own heart... and be still (Psalm 4:4)

Further information


Tuesday 3rd October

8:15 AM - Morning Prayer


1:15 PM - 2:00 PM - Lunchtime Recital: Sussex Camerata


2:15 PM - 3:45 PM - Guided Tour


5:00 PM - 6:00 PM - Space for Silence

Commune with your own heart... and be still (Psalm 4:4)

Further information


Wednesday 4th October

8:15 AM - Morning Prayer

A said service in the Crypt chapel


11:30 AM - Patronal Service: Worshipful Company of Spectacle Makers


1:15 PM - Holy Communion in the Crypt


5:00 PM - 6:00 PM - Space for Silence

Commune with your own heart... and be still (Psalm 4:4)

Further information


Thursday 5th October

8:15 AM - Morning Prayer

A said service in the Crypt Chapel


5:00 PM - 6:00 PM - Space for Silence

Commune with your own heart... and be still (Psalm 4:4)

Further information


Friday 6th October

8:15 AM - Morning Prayer


1:15 PM - 2:00 PM - Lunchtime Recital: Mitra Alice Tham – piano


4:30 PM - Memorial Service: Charlotte Cooper


Saturday 7th October

10:00 AM - 3:30 PM - Church open


Sunday 8th October

11:00 AM - Choral Eucharist: Harvest Sunday

Setting: 'Chester' Missa Brevis – Matthew Martin

Psalm: 19: 7–end

Anthem: For the beauty of the earth – Rutter

SUNDAY CLUB: aims to provide a safe and stimulating environment for all our younger congregation members. All welcome.


5:30 PM - Choral Evensong with Sermon in Music

Responses: Rose

Psalm: 136

Magnificat & Nunc Dimittis: Evening Service in A – Sumsion

Sermon in Music: i) Fear not, O land – Elgar; ii) Thou visitest the earth – Greene; iii) Ye shall dwell in the land – Stainer


Monday 9th October

8:15 AM - Morning Prayer


5:00 PM - 6:00 PM - Space for Silence

Commune with your own heart... and be still (Psalm 4:4)

Further information


Tuesday 10th October

8:15 AM - Morning Prayer


1:15 PM - 2:00 PM - Lunchtime Recital: The Major Music Scholars of James Allen's Girls' School


2:15 PM - 3:45 PM - Guided Tour


5:00 PM - 6:00 PM - Space for Silence

Commune with your own heart... and be still (Psalm 4:4)

Further information


Wednesday 11th October

8:15 AM - Morning Prayer

A said service in the Crypt chapel


1:15 PM - Holy Communion in the Crypt


5:00 PM - 6:00 PM - No 'Space for Silence' today

Commune with your own heart... and be still (Psalm 4:4)

Further information


5:00 PM - 7:00 PM - Eastbournian Society Choral Evensong

As part of the 150th anniversary celebrations of Eastbourne College, their choir will be singing Evensong at 5.00pm on Wednesday 11 October. Many of the College’s supporters will be present and are welcome to the reception afterwards. Please let jt@eastbourne-college.co.uk (01323 452314) know if you will be joining them.

 

Introit: God be in my Head – Rutter
Preces and Responses: Radcliffe
Psalm: 61
Canticles: Evening Service in C – Stanford
Anthem: Jubilate – Peter Melville Smith 
Hymn: Christ the Dawn of our Salvation


Thursday 12th October

8:15 AM - Morning Prayer

A said service in the Crypt Chapel


10:45 AM - Harvest Service: The Guild of Agricultural Journalists


5:00 PM - 6:00 PM - Space for Silence

Commune with your own heart... and be still (Psalm 4:4)

Further information


Friday 13th October

8:15 AM - Morning Prayer


1:15 PM - 2:00 PM - Lunchtime Recital: Frans van Schoonhoven – violin, and Chiahu Lee – piano


5:00 PM - 6:00 PM - Space for Silence

Commune with your own heart... and be still (Psalm 4:4)

Further information


Saturday 14th October

10:00 AM - 5:30 PM - Church open


3:00 PM - Wedding Service: Charlotte Forbes and Peter Greenall


Sunday 15th October

11:00 AM - Choral Eucharist: Trinity XVIII

Setting: Missa Nasce la gioja mia – Palestrina

Anthem: Tantum ergo – Truslove

SUNDAY CLUB: aims to provide a safe and stimulating environment for all our younger congregation members. All welcome.


5:30 PM - Choral Evensong

Responses: Ayleward

Psalm: 138

Magnificat & Nunc Dimittis: 'St Paul's' Evening Service – Howells

Anthem: A Prayer of King Henry VI – Ley


Monday 16th October

8:15 AM - Morning Prayer


5:00 PM - 6:00 PM - Space for Silence

Commune with your own heart... and be still (Psalm 4:4)

Further information


Tuesday 17th October

8:15 AM - Morning Prayer


1:15 PM - 2:00 PM - Lunchtime Recital: Michael Butten – guitar


2:15 PM - 3:45 PM - Guided Tour


5:00 PM - 6:00 PM - Space for Silence

Commune with your own heart... and be still (Psalm 4:4)

Further information


Wednesday 18th October

8:15 AM - Morning Prayer

A said service in the Crypt chapel


1:15 PM - Holy Communion in the Crypt


5:00 PM - 6:00 PM - Space for Silence

Commune with your own heart... and be still (Psalm 4:4)

Further information


Thursday 19th October

8:15 AM - Morning Prayer

A said service in the Crypt Chapel


5:00 PM - 6:00 PM - Space for Silence

Commune with your own heart... and be still (Psalm 4:4)

Further information


Friday 20th October

8:15 AM - Morning Prayer


1:15 PM - 2:00 PM - Lunchtime Recital: Emmanuel Bach – violin, and Jenny Stern – piano


5:00 PM - 6:00 PM - Space for Silence

Commune with your own heart... and be still (Psalm 4:4)

Further information


Saturday 21st October

10:00 AM - 3:30 PM - Church open


Sunday 22nd October

11:00 AM - Choral Eucharist : Trafalgar Day

Setting: Missa Sancti Dominici – Rubbra

Canticle: Jubilate in B minor – Noble

Anthem: They that go down to the sea in ships – Sumsion

SUNDAY CLUB: aims to provide a safe and stimulating environment for all our younger congregation members. All welcome.


5:30 PM - Choral Evensong with Sermon in Music

Responses: Grier

Psalm: 142

Magnificat & Nunc Dimittis: Evening Service in D – Wood

Sermon in Music: Five Spirituals from A Child of our Time – Tippett


Monday 23rd October

8:15 AM - Morning Prayer


5:00 PM - 6:00 PM - Space for Silence

Commune with your own heart... and be still (Psalm 4:4)

Further information


Tuesday 24th October

8:15 AM - Morning Prayer


1:15 PM - 2:00 PM - Lunchtime Recital: Hyun Jung Won – piano


2:15 PM - 3:45 PM - Guided Tour


5:00 PM - 6:00 PM - Space for Silence

Commune with your own heart... and be still (Psalm 4:4)

Further information


Wednesday 25th October

8:15 AM - Morning Prayer

A said service in the Crypt chapel


11:30 AM - Thanksgiving Service: Bryan Oakes


1:15 PM - Holy Communion in the Crypt


5:00 PM - 6:00 PM - Space for Silence

Commune with your own heart... and be still (Psalm 4:4)

Further information


Thursday 26th October

8:15 AM - Morning Prayer

A said service in the Crypt Chapel


5:00 PM - 6:00 PM - Space for Silence

Commune with your own heart... and be still (Psalm 4:4)

Further information


Friday 27th October

8:15 AM - Morning Prayer


1:15 PM - 2:00 PM - Lunchtime Recital: Anthony Gritten – organ


5:00 PM - 6:00 PM - Space for Silence

Commune with your own heart... and be still (Psalm 4:4)

Further information


Saturday 28th October

10:00 AM - 3:30 PM - Church open


Sunday 29th October

11:00 AM - Choral Eucharist: Last after Trinity

Setting: Communion Service in E flat – Rheinberger

Anthem: O Jesu Christ, meins Lebens Licht – Bach

SUNDAY CLUB: aims to provide a safe and stimulating environment for all our younger congregation members. All welcome.


5:30 PM - Choral Evensong

Responses: Gabriel Jackson

Psalm: 119: 89–104

Magnificat & Nunc Dimittis: 'Chichester' Evening Service – Berkeley

Anthem: There is an old belief – Parry


Monday 30th October

8:15 AM - Morning Prayer


5:00 PM - 6:00 PM - Space for Silence

Commune with your own heart... and be still (Psalm 4:4)

Further information


Tuesday 31st October

8:15 AM - Morning Prayer


1:15 PM - 2:00 PM - Lunchtime Recital: Chris Sayles – piano


2:15 PM - 3:45 PM - Guided Tour


5:00 PM - 6:00 PM - Space for Silence

Commune with your own heart... and be still (Psalm 4:4)

Further information


October 2017
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su
25 26 27 28 29 30 1
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31 1 2 3 4 5
  Multiple Events
  Choral Eucharist
  Choral Evensong
  Concert
  Guided Tour
  Lunchtime Concert
  Memorial
  Said Service
  Special Event
  Thanksgiving
  Carols
   
  Wedding
  Other Sung Service

This Month's Sunday Music

Sunday 26th November - 11:00 AM

Choral Eucharist: Christ the King

Setting: Missa Brevis in C major 'Spatzenmesse' Mozart

Canticle: Jubilate Sanders

Anthem: Lift up your heads, O ye gates Handel

SUNDAY CLUB: aims to provide a safe and stimulating environment for all our younger congregation members. All welcome.


Sunday 26th November - 6:30 PM

Come & Sing 2017: Choral Evensong

Your chance to join the choir of St Bride's for a day and sing at Choral Evensong accompanied by our very own St Bride's Orchestra. All welcome to attend the free service.

Further Information and Performer Tickets...

Psalm: 98 'O sing unto the Lord' – Mendelssohn

Magnificat & Nunc Dimittis: Evening Service in A – Stanford

Anthems: i) My beloved spake – Hadley; ii) I was glad – Parry

Hymn: Jerusalem – Parry (orchestral version)


Forthcoming Advent & Christmas Events and Services

Thursday 30th November - 6:30 PM

Carol Service: Elizabeth's Legacy of Hope


Sunday 3rd December - 6:30 PM

Advent Carols


Monday 4th December - 6:45 PM

Carol Service: Old Ben


Tuesday 5th December - 12:30 PM

Carol Service: Telegraph


Tuesday 5th December - 5:00 PM

Carol Service: AMV BBDO


Wednesday 6th December - 7:00 PM

Carol Service: Adfam


Thursday 7th December - 6:45 PM

Carol Service: Spectator


Friday 8th December - 4:15 PM

Carol Service: BAT


Sunday 10th December - 6:30 PM

Ceremony of Carols


Monday 11th December - 6:30 PM

Carol Service: Comms Industry


Tuesday 12th December - 12:30 PM

Carol Service: Deloitte


Tuesday 12th December - 6:00 PM

Carol Service: Printers


Wednesday 13th December - 6:15 PM

Carol Service: Goldman Sachs


Thursday 14th December - 12:30 PM

Carol Service: Freshfields


Thursday 14th December - 6:00 PM

Carol Service: Hogan Lovells


Sunday 17th December - 6:30 PM

Nine Lessons and Carols


Monday 18th December - 6:30 PM

Carol Service: Journalists


Tuesday 19th December - 11:30 AM

Carol Service: Unilever


Tuesday 19th December - 6:00 PM

Carol Service: Thomson Reuters


Wednesday 20th December - 1:00 PM

Carol Service: Crowe Clark Whitehill


Wednesday 20th December - 6:45 PM

Carol Service: Times and Sunday Times


Thursday 21st December - 12:00 PM

Carol Service: Fleet Street Carols 1


Thursday 21st December - 5:00 PM

Carol Service: Fleet Street Carols 2


Sunday 24th December - 11:30 PM

Choral Eucharist for Christmas Eve


Monday 25th December - 11:00 AM

Choral Eucharist for Christmas Day


Forthcoming Lunchtime Concerts

Friday 24th November - 1:15 PM - 2:00 PM

Lunchtime Recital: Ben Giddens – organ


Tuesday 28th November - 1:15 PM - 2:00 PM

Lunchtime Recital: Rebecca Hardwick – soprano, and Iestyn Evans – piano


Forthcoming Memorials, Funerals, Thanksgiving & Other Sung Services

Forthcoming Special Events

Sunday 10th December - 3:00 PM - 4:00 PM

Children's Crib Service

Join us for the telling of the Christmas Story in word and song - with costumes!

Followed by refreshments and craft activities for the children.


Monday 25th December -

Church Closed at 1pm


Tuesday 26th December -

Church Closed: Bank Holiday


Monday 1st January -

Church Closed: Bank Holiday


Friday 30th March -

Good Friday


Monday 2nd April -

Church Closed: Bank Holiday


Monday 7th May -

Church Closed: Bank Holiday


Monday 28th May -

Church Closed: Bank Holiday


Forthcoming Weddings & Blessings

Saturday 25th November - 3:00 PM

Wedding Service: Charlotte Griffiths and Frederick Duff Gordon


Saturday 16th December - 3:30 PM

Wedding Service: Hannah Davies and Henry Matson


Forthcoming Guided Tours

Tuesday 28th November - 2:15 PM - 3:45 PM

Guided Tour


Tuesday 2nd January - 2:15 PM - 3:45 PM

Guided Tour


Tuesday 9th January - 2:15 PM - 3:45 PM

Guided Tour


Tuesday 16th January - 2:15 PM - 3:45 PM

Guided Tour


Tuesday 23rd January - 2:15 PM - 3:45 PM

Guided Tour


Tuesday 30th January - 2:15 PM - 3:45 PM

Guided Tour


Tuesday 6th February - 2:15 PM - 3:45 PM

Guided Tour


Tuesday 13th February - 2:15 PM - 3:45 PM

Guided Tour


Tuesday 20th February - 2:15 PM - 3:45 PM

Guided Tour


Tuesday 27th February - 2:15 PM - 3:45 PM

Guided Tour


Tuesday 6th March - 2:15 PM - 3:45 PM

Guided Tour


Tuesday 13th March - 2:15 PM - 3:45 PM

Guided Tour


Tuesday 20th March - 2:15 PM - 3:45 PM

Guided Tour


Tuesday 27th March - 2:15 PM - 3:45 PM

Guided Tour


Tuesday 3rd April - 2:15 PM - 3:45 PM

Guided Tour


Tuesday 10th April - 2:15 PM - 3:45 PM

Guided Tour


Tuesday 17th April - 2:15 PM - 3:45 PM

Guided Tour


Tuesday 24th April - 2:15 PM - 3:45 PM

Guided Tour


Tuesday 1st May - 2:15 PM - 3:45 PM

Guided Tour


Forthcoming Advent Carol Services

Thursday 30th November - 6:30 PM

Carol Service: Elizabeth's Legacy of Hope


Sunday 3rd December - 6:30 PM

Advent Carols


Monday 4th December - 6:45 PM

Carol Service: Old Ben


Tuesday 5th December - 12:30 PM

Carol Service: Telegraph


Tuesday 5th December - 5:00 PM

Carol Service: AMV BBDO


Wednesday 6th December - 7:00 PM

Carol Service: Adfam


Thursday 7th December - 6:45 PM

Carol Service: Spectator


Friday 8th December - 4:15 PM

Carol Service: BAT


Sunday 10th December - 6:30 PM

Ceremony of Carols


Monday 11th December - 6:30 PM

Carol Service: Comms Industry


Tuesday 12th December - 12:30 PM

Carol Service: Deloitte


Tuesday 12th December - 6:00 PM

Carol Service: Printers


Wednesday 13th December - 6:15 PM

Carol Service: Goldman Sachs


Thursday 14th December - 12:30 PM

Carol Service: Freshfields


Thursday 14th December - 6:00 PM

Carol Service: Hogan Lovells


Sunday 17th December - 6:30 PM

Nine Lessons and Carols


Monday 18th December - 6:30 PM

Carol Service: Journalists


Tuesday 19th December - 11:30 AM

Carol Service: Unilever


Tuesday 19th December - 6:00 PM

Carol Service: Thomson Reuters


Wednesday 20th December - 1:00 PM

Carol Service: Crowe Clark Whitehill


Wednesday 20th December - 6:45 PM

Carol Service: Times and Sunday Times


Thursday 21st December - 12:00 PM

Carol Service: Fleet Street Carols 1


Thursday 21st December - 5:00 PM

Carol Service: Fleet Street Carols 2


Sunday 24th December - 11:30 PM

Choral Eucharist for Christmas Eve


Monday 25th December - 11:00 AM

Choral Eucharist for Christmas Day