Recital: Francesca Maria Villani – piano

Tuesday 30th April, 2024, at 1:15 pm

Retiring Collection

The Programme

Francesca Maria Villani – piano

Domenico Scarlatti

Sonata in D minor, K 32

Robert Schumann

Kreisleriana, Op 16
1. Äußerst bewegt (extremely animated)
2. Sehr innig und nicht zu rasch (very inwardly and not too quickly)
3. Sehr aufgeregt (very agitated)
4. Sehr langsam (very slowly)
5. Sehr lebhaft (very lively)
6. Sehr langsam (very slowly)
7. Sehr rasch (very fast)
8. Schnell und spielend (fast and playful)

The Artist

Francesca Maria Villani was born in Manduria, in southern Italy in 1999, and started playing the piano at the age of five. She graduated with full marks and honours from the Conservatoire ‘Nino Rota’, in Monopoli with Professor C Gallo in 2018. She has played Schumann’s Konzertstück, Op 92 and Beethoven’s Concerto No 2, Op 19 with the Conservatoire’s orchestra. She was selected by the Conservatoire to play the Goldberg Variations at Radar Theater in Monopoli during a festival dedicated to Paola Bruni. She has won various competitions and has attended piano masterclasses with maestros including Thiollier, Marvulli, Ferrati, Rivera, Delle Vigne and Nattkemper. She studied with Aquiles Delle Vigne during a biennial course.

Francesca won first prize at London Grand Prize Virtuoso, and was selected to play at the awards gala in the Royal Albert Hall in December 2016. She has also played for many associations, including the Reale Circolo dei Canottieri Tevere Remo, a famous club in Rome, Gli incontri in Santa Maria di Loreto (a church near the Imperial Forums in Rome), Il Bari Piano Festival, I Concerti dell’EurOrchestra in San Carlo in Bari and Gli Amici della Musica ‘Arcangelo Speranza’, the oldest music association in Taranto, a town. She has also played in Switzeraland (Lugano) and in Spain (Léon, for Eutherpe Foundation).

Francesca participated in the ‘A due voci’ Festival, a series of concerts in Como about music and philosophy promoted in the field of the ‘Journée mondiale de la philosophie’ sponsored by UNESCO in November 2021, and on that occasion she gave a concert lesson on the Goldberg Variations and Berg Sonata Op 1. She has a Master’s degree in Philosophy from the University of Bari, with analysis of some vocal works of Sofija Gubajdulina and the writing of Helene Cixous. Currently, she is a PhD student in Bari, and her studies focus on the relationship between music and Gender Studies.

congregation sitting for service


Subscribe to our newsletter to receive alerts for
events and advance information about seasonal services.

We protect your data and never overwhelm your inbox.